/Sunwolves upset Rebels in stunning Super Rugby opener

Sunwolves upset Rebels in stunning Super Rugby opener

2020-02-01 07:37

Cape Town – The Sunwolves have gotten their 2020 Super Rugby season onto a winning start as they stunned the Rebels in their opening match in Level5 Stadium on Saturday morning.

As it happened | Sunwolves v Rebels

The home side won 36-27 after leading 22-13 at half-time.

The Japanese outfit scored five tries in the match through Keisuke Moriya, Jaba Bregvadze, Tautalatasi Tasi, James Dargaville and Garth April.

Former Sharks flyhalf April added five conversions and a penalty.

The Rebels crossed the whitewash four times thanks to Anaru Rangi, Dane Haylett-Petty, Andrew Kellaway and Andrew Deegan.

Meanwhile, Matt Toomua slotted a conversion and a penalty with replacement Reece Hodge adding a conversion.

Next week the Rebels will take on the Brumbles on Friday, February 7 at 10:15 SA time, while the Sunwolves have a bye.



Tries: Keisuke Moriya, Jaba Bregvadze, Tautalatasi Tasi, James Dargaville, Garth April

Conversions: April (5)

Penalty: April


Tries: Anaru Rangi, Dane Haylett-Petty, Andrew Kellaway, Andrew Deegan

Conversions: Matt Toomua, Reece Hodge

Penalty: Matt Toomua



15 James Dargaville, 14 Siosaia Fifita, 13 Keisuke Moriya, 12 Ben Te’o, 11 Tautalatasi Tasi, 10 Garth April, 9 Rudy Paige, 8 Jake Schatz, 7 Shunsuke Nunomaki, 6 Brendon O’Connor, 5 Michael Stolberg, 4 Kotaro Yatabe, 3 Conraad van Vuuren, 2 Jaba Bregvadze, 1 Jarred Adams

Substitutes: 16 Leni Apisai, 17 Chris Eves, 18 Hencus van Wyk, 19 Justin Downey, 20 Mitch Jacobson, 21 Naoto Saito, 22 Shogo Nakano, 23 JJ Engelbrecht


15 Dane Haylett-Petty (captain), 14 Marika Koroibete, 13 Reece Hodge, 12 Billy Meakes, 11 Andrew Kellaway, 10 Matt To’omua, 9 Frank Lomani, 8 Isi Naisarani, 7 Rob Leota, 6 Angus Cottrell, 5 Matt Philip, 4 Ross Haylett-Petty, 3 Jermaine Ainsley, 2 Anaru Rangi, 1 Fereti Sa’aga

Substitutes: 16 Steve Misa, 17 Cameron Orr, 18 Ruan Smith, 19 Luke Jones, 20 Michael Wells, 21 Richard Hardwick, 22 Theo Strang, 23 Andrew Deegan

– Compiled by Lynn Butler

Original Source